Cardington hands out fall sports awards to athletes


November 26, 2013

Participants in fall sports were honored when the Cardington-Lincoln High School held its Fall Sports program Tuesday, November 19, in the Patrick Drouhard auditorium.

A total of 95 athletes were recognized by their coaches during the program.

Varsity head football coach Brandon Dodrill and assistant coach Troy Ruehrmund presented the Most Improved Player award to Devon Bartlett. Crew Cochran received the Offensive Line MVP award; Noah Zierden, the Offensive Athlete MVP; Andy Plummer, Defensive Line MVP and Colton Jenkins, the Defensive Athlete MVP. Bobby Davis was given the Scout Team MVP and Josh Kill earned the Pirate Award.

The Boys cross country awards were made by head coach Erik Kyrk and assistant coaches Jonathan Naylor and Kirby Francis. Jacob Long was recognized as the Most Valuable Runner; Caleb White, the Most Improved Award and Mitch Yake earned the Pirate Award. Toby Beveridge received the Coach’s Award.

In girls cross country, McKenzie Smith was recognized as the Most Valuable Runner; Bailey Shafer and Dakota Crum received awards for Most Improved and Olivia Parsons received the Pirate Award.

Golf trophy winners awarded by coach Troy King included Mac Thompson for the Lowest Stroke Average and Cole Hess earned the Pirate Award.

The head volleyball coach, Jaclyn Johnston, and assistant coaches Heather Sears and Linda Brininger awarded Sam Brininger as the Leader in Digs, Esther Elliott, for being both Ace and Assist Leader and Khyla Jones was awarded the Kills Leader. The Hustle Award was made to Brittany Wolf Delawder.

Cheerleader advisor Tracy Williamson named Courtney Rader as the Most Improved and Destiny Williamson, Libby McConnell and Kimberlyn Seitz each received an award for Most Spirited and Ashlee Parsons was given the Pirate Award

Certificates were also distributed for MOAC second team honors to Noah Zierden, Andy Plummer, Mitch Yake and Khyla Jones. MOAC Honorable Mention recipients were Josh Kill and Sam Brininger.

During the MOAC banquet held earlier, Crew Cochran, Colton Jenkins, Esther Elliott and Jacob long were honored as First Team MOAC award recipients.

Receiving their 12 point Athletic Awards were Devon Bartlett, Sami Bennett, Travis Boyd, Sam Brininger, Devin Brooks, Crew Cochran, Nick Fisher, Jared Gandelot, Colton Jenkins, Kelsee Lothes, Ashlee Parsons, Andy Plummer, Mason Richardson, Garrett Rowe, McKenzie Smith, Mac Thompson and Noah Zierden.