Last updated: May 27. 2014 4:22PM - 484 Views
By Elizabeth Corwin

Major Award Winners were Star Chapter Farmer Chelsea Trainer, Star Greenhand Zach Parrott, and Senior Leadership Award Shelbie Wiseman.
Major Award Winners were Star Chapter Farmer Chelsea Trainer, Star Greenhand Zach Parrott, and Senior Leadership Award Shelbie Wiseman.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

On Tuesday, April 8, 2014, Northmor High School hosted their annual FFA banquet. The eventful night had been comprised of weeks of planning and a great amount of effort put forth by both students and their advisor, Mr. Parrott. For all of the hard work throughout the year, the banquet allows for members to review and enjoy all that they have accomplished.

To start the evening off, Chapter President Chelsea Trainer welcomed all of the guests, and then followed by introducing Zach Parrott who recited the creed. Student Advisor, Spencer Adams then read an invocation to begin dinner. During the dinner portion of the night, FFA member Elizabeth Corwin served as entertainment by performing a few selected songs.

Following the meal, opening ceremonies led to the thanking of all of the special guests that were in attendance, as well as the awarding of certificates to those who have so graciously helped the Chapter in a variety of ways throughout the past year. For their undying support, Mrs. Julie Logan and Mr. Jeff Whisler were inducted as the newest Honorary Chapter Farmers. The Honorary Chapter Farmer membership typically is given to local farmers, school superintendents, principals, members of the board of education, business men and women, and others who help advance agricultural education and the FFA. For their help with multiple banquets, the two newest members were congratulated by each of the officers.

One of the most important parts of the night was the degree ceremonies. Each degree is important in the FFA. But, Northmor was able to acknowledge not only the Greenhand and Chapter degrees at the local level, but also the State and American degrees at the State and National levels this year. The members who are to be receiving their State degrees this spring the State Convention are Ellie Logan and Chelsea Trainer. Northmor’s American Degree recipient for this year is Taylor Brubaker, who will receive her American degree at the 2014 National Convention this next fall.

Individual awards were the next to be handed out. Talent recognition was the first to be announced. The FFA member acknowledged for this category was Elizabeth Corwin, who had not only sang for the entertainment during the dinner portion of the night, but also won the State talent competition last spring. This past fall, Corwin proceeded to compete at the national level where she had made it to the category of top sixteen.

Record keeping awards were next presented. Keeping organized and accurate records is very important in FFA. At each grade level, the following members were awarded: Maggie Logan (freshman class), Nathan Bird (sophomore class), Ellie Logan (junior class), and Chelsea Trainer (senior class).

Each year, many FFA chapters, including Northmor, hold annual fruit sales. For the most fruit sold this last fall, there were two cash awards that were handed out. Those awards went to Ellie Logan, who came in first for the most sales, followed by Zach Parrott who came in second.

Scholarship, another important aspect of the FFA, was also awarded during the night. In the freshman class alone, Northmor had seven members with a GPA of 3.9 or higher. However, the highest GPA of the freshman class was that of Dylan Tate. For the sophomore class, Colin Berg was the next to be acknowledged. As for the upperclassmen, Lauren Bood was acknowledged for the junior class and Chelsea Trainer for the senior class.

Judging season this year for Northmor was quite eventful. Northmor’s variety of judging teams this last year included the soil, dairy, equine, wildlife, and livestock teams. For the soil judging contest, Northmor had a team of four (Chelsea Trainer, Ellie Logan, Alisha Pletcher, and Kelsey Reeder) attend the district competition, where they placed 6th overall. The dairy team which had grown in number since last year consisted of the work put forth by Jessica Ruhl, Colin Berg, Spencer Adams, Josh Caudill, James Walker, and Nathan Bird. As for the horse judging team this past season teammates Kelleen Ison, Miranda Harvey, and Elizabeth Corwin placed 16th at State. The wildlife team, composed of six freshmen, Zach Parrott, Ben Singer, Maggie Logan, Nathan Price, and AJ White, also placed 16th at State. As for the livestock team, there were four members who participated, Shelbie Wiseman, Lindsay Wiseman, Ellie Logan, and Chelsea Trainer. However, only Ellie and Chelsea competed at State.

Parliamentary procedure, also known as the demonstration of how to conduct a business meeting, was another highlight of the year. Northmor had both a freshman and a Varsity team that competed this year. The Varsity team placed fourth at subdistricts and the freshman team placed second.

Three individuals were also recognized for competing in public speaking.Those individuals were Zach Parrott, who placed fifth in the Creed contest, Ellie Logan, who placed fourth in the Extemporaneous contest, and Chelsea Trainer who also placed fifth in the Advanced Prepared contest.

There were four individuals who placed at districts for the job interview contest as well. Those individuals were Zach Parrott who placed second, Spencer Adams who placed third, Ellie Logan who won the junior contest, and Chelsea Trainer who placed third. Ellie then went on to place seventh at the state competition.

A total of seven proficiency awards were handed out that night as well. The awards regarding small livestock, sheep production, and diversified livestock projects were received by Shelbie Wiseman. Ellie Logan was awarded for the area of Agricultural Education, and Swine Production. For the area of beef production, Kyndall Williams was awarded. Finally, for the category of specialty animal projects Nathan Bird received an award.

To continue the awards ceremony that night, Mr. Parrott acknowledged the 43 participants of the PALs (Partners in Active Learning) program and discussed the importance of the program. The three final special awards of the night were given by Mr. Parrott. These awards were the Star Greenhand Award, received by Zach Parrott, the Senior Leadership Award, received by Shelbie Wiseman, and the Star Chapter Farmer Award received by Chelsea Trainer.

The night was concluded with an of the year slide show and the induction of the new officer team for the 2014-2015 school year. Serving as next years officers are: Spencer Adams as President, Mitchell Whisler as Vice President, Zach Parrott as Secretary, Kelsey Reeder as Treasurer, Elizabeth Corwin as Reporter, Alisha Pletcher as Sentinel, and Ellie Logan as Student Advisor. As this year in FFA comes to a close the next year is already being planned for.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Mt. Gilead Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com